Siena SI

On the right are the historic buildings on Via di Fontebranda, with the ancient city walls in the background

The statues and the Mercanzia loggia at the Croce del Travaglio, designed by Sano di Matteo in the 15th century

Loggia della Mercanzia, now home to the Circolo degli Uniti, situated in Croce del Travaglio

The bell chamber of the Torre del Mangia, made of white travertine and adorned with battlements, in Piazza del Campo

The clock on the Torre del Mangia, created by Bartolomeo Guidi in 1360, in Piazza del Campo

The marble tabernacle known as the Cappella di Piazza, originally built in 1352 and designed by Domenico di Agostino, was subsequently remodelled

The Town Hall (or Palazzo Pubblico) in Piazza del Campo, dating from the 13th century, is now the town hall

The three-light windows of the Town Hall in Piazza del Campo, in the Sienese style, with the black-and-white ‘balzana’ – the city’s symbol – at their centre

The majestic Town Hall in Piazza del Campo, built over several periods using stone and brick

The Capitoline Wolf of Siena nursing twins in Piazza del Campo

An empty niche to the side of the pillar in the Cappella di Piazza in Piazza del Campo

The Medici coat of arms carved in stone in Piazza del Campo, which has been situated at the centre of the façade of the Palazzo Comunale since 1560

Two statues situated at the corner of the loggia of the Cappella di Piazza in Piazza del Campo, by Mariano d’Angelo Romanelli

Statue of an apostle, situated in a Gothic niche on the pillar of the Cappella di Piazza, in Piazza del Campo

The face of an apostle, by Mariano d’Angelo Romanelli, situated in a loggia of the Cappella di Piazza in Piazza del Campo

The marble tabernacle, known as the Cappella di Piazza, built in 1352 and situated at the foot of the Town Hall

Piazza del Campo and the sculpture of an apostle, situated beside the pillar of the Cappella di Piazza, created by Mariano d’Angelo Romanelli

The Piazza Chapel, situated next to the Town Hall in Piazza del Campo, was built in 1352 as a token of gratitude to the Virgin Mary for having been spared the Black Death

A western wild pigeon in Piazza del Campo, with the Cappella di Piazza in the background

Piazza del Campo and the raised central section of the Town Hall, with a large disc depicting the Trigram of Christ at its centre, painted by Battista di Niccolò in 1425

Piazza del Campo and the diamond-shaped decorations on the exterior façade of Jacopo della Quercia’s Fonte Gaia

Piazza del Campo, where the Palio takes place, with the Palazzo Comunale on one side and the Torre dei Mangia on the other

The façade of the Church of San Martino in Via del Porrione, designed by Giovanni Fontana in the 16th century

Piazza dell’Abbadia and the upper part of the neo-medieval gabled façade, in terracotta, of the church of San Donato

The long street in Fontebranda, with a newly renovated building on the left

The Basilica of Saint Dominic, dedicated to Saint Catherine, as seen from Via di Fontebranda

The ancient medieval fountain, Fontebranda, on the street of the same name, with the Basilica of Saint Dominic (dedicated to Saint Catherine) visible in the background

A street lamp and the flag of the Nobile Contrada dell’Oca in Via Santa Caterina

Via Santa Caterina and the small bell gable of the Sanctuary of Santa Caterina

The Sanctuary of Saint Catherine, accessed via the Neo-Renaissance Portico of the Municipalities of Italy on the Sant’Antonio seafront

The Costa di Sant’Antonio and the entrance to the Sanctuary of Santa Caterina from the Portico dei Comuni d’Italia, with the statue of Santa Caterina on the left

Detail of the painting by Giovanni Tommasi Ferroni on the Sant’Antonio cover

The bronze statue of a dragon, the symbol of the Contrada del Drago, in Piazza Giacomo Matteotti

A bronze statue of a dragon, the symbol of the Contrada del Drago, hanging from the corner of a building in Piazza Giacomo Matteotti

Palazzo Tolomei, dating from the 13th century, situated in the square of the same name

The irregularly shaped tower of Palazzo Sansedoni in Piazza del Campo, which was truncated in the Middle Ages

The semi-circular shape of Piazza del Campo, with the majestic Palazzo Sansedoni to the right

Palazzo d’Elci degli Alessi in Piazza del Campo, dating from the 1500s

The brick façade of Palazzo Sansedoni in Piazza del Campo, renovated in the 18th century by the architect Ferdinando Ruggieri

The Fonte Gaia by Jacopo della Quercia in Piazza del Campo (the one in the square is a copy by Tito Sarrocchi)

Scrivi un commento ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.